Fall 2014 Concerts and Events

Holyoke Community College Music Department 
All events are free and open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Wednesday Morning Series

Day Date Time Location Event
Wed Sept. 17 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Guest Speaker: Gail Vivian, HCC Psychology Department
Stage Fright Strategies
Wed Sept. 24 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Faculty Recital:  Elaine Saloio, flute, accompanied by Scott Bailey, piano and Westfield State University Faculty Ensemble
Wed Oct. 1 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Faculty Workshop:  Robert Ferrier and Ellen Cogen
In the Mood:  Adapting Mood to Changing Musical Styles  
Wed Oct. 8 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Guest Lecture: Dr. Gary Hardegree, Dept. of Philosophy, UMass, Amherst  
A Digital Realization of Terry Riley's In C with an Introduction by HCC Music Faculty Mathonwy Bostock
Wed Oct. 15 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Alumni Series-Guest Speaker: Dr. Bruce Zimmerman
Composing Music for Media
Wed Oct. 22 11 am -12:15 pm LPT Midsemester Ensemble Concert
Wed Oct. 29 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Student Recital
Wed Nov 5 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Student Recital
Wed Nov. 12 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Student Recital
Wed Nov. 19 10-10:50 am FPA 137 Student Recital
Wed Dec. 3 10-10:50am FPA 137 Student Recital
Wed Dec. 10 10am-12:00pm FPA 137 Student Recital

EVENING AND WEEKEND CONCERTS:

Sun Oct. 19 3:00 pm LPT Holyoke Civic Symphony Orchestra
Sat Nov. 1 2:00 pm FPA 137 Jazz Faculty Showcase Concert
Tues Dec. 2 7:30 pm LPT Honors Recital-Forest Loomis-Dulong, bass, and Justin Moffett, jazz guitar, followed by the Musical Theater Workshop
Sun Dec. 7 3:00 pm LPT Holyoke Civic Symphony Orchestra
Mon Dec. 8 7:30 pm LPT Student Ensemble Concert, featuring the Classical Guitar Ensemble, Piano Ensemble, Chamber Vocal Ensemble, and the College Chorale
Wed Dec. 10 7:30 pm LPT Student Ensemble Concert, featuring the Percussion Ensemble, Jazz Guitar Ensemble, and Jazz Ensemble



FPA = Fine & Performing Arts building
LPT = Leslie Phillips Theater (inside the Fine & Performing Arts building)

 

Holyoke Community College
303 Homestead Ave. Holyoke, MA 01040
(413) 538-7000