About the Library

The Holyoke Community College Library provides students with the assistance and resources to fulfill their classroom assignments and expand their education beyond the classroom into their daily lives. The research strategies acquired while learning to use the library will provide students with lifelong learning skills.

Our knowledgeable staff is available to work with students one-on-one, in teams, and in the classroom. Library services can be accessed in person at our service desks or by phone, email, or text message.  Located in the center of the college complex, we offer computer labs, photocopiers with scan-to-email abilities,  and both group study and quiet study areas.   Students have access to print and electronic books, online periodicals, and streaming educational videos. HCC faculty may place course material on reserve at the circulation desk for student use. The online catalog and online databases are accessible from both in the library and from off campus. Easy remote access to the Library's electronic collection means that the library is always open when you need it!

Holyoke Community College is a participating member of C/WMARS (Central/Western Massachusetts Automated Resource Sharing network) which augments the resources of the HCC Library by providing online access to the collections of over 140 academic and public libraries. Students at HCC may borrow from all C/WMARS libraries by either visiting the libraries themselves or requesting material to be delivered to the HCC Library.


The entrance to the library is on the second floor of the Donahue building.

Address: 
Holyoke Community College Library 
303 Homestead Ave.
Holyoke, MA 01040

Phone: 413.552.2372

Library Administration: 413.552.2260
Circulation Desk: 413.552.2372
Reference Desk: 413.552.2424 or library@hcc.edu
Interlibrary Loan: 413.552.2371
HCC Archivist: 413.552.2373

staff members

Name Phone E-mail (@hcc.edu)
Reference Desk (General Questions) 413.552.2424 library
Camille Close 413.552.2277 cclose
Carl Todd 413.552.2374 ctodd
Codey Kolasinski 413.552.2424 ckolasinski
David Mac Court 413.552.2424 dmaccourt
Debbie Roy 413.552.2187 daroy
Inna Vornicov 413.552.2372 ivornicov
Jenna Obremski 413.552.2372 jobremski
Jennifer Adams 413.552.2733 jadams
Joyce Tomlinson 413.552.2261 jtomlinson
Kelly Kielbania 413.552.2371 kkielbania
Mary Dixey 413.552.2260 mdixey
Miriam Neptune 413.552.2424 mneptune
Patricia Mangan 413.552.2424 pmangan
Rebecca Morin 413.552.2373 rmorin
Susan Mulry 413.552.2399 smulry
Theresa Labato 413.552.2751 tlabato
Printing at the Library

The library uses the same printing system as the rest of Holyoke Community College. At the start of each fall and spring semester, everyone is given a credit of $12.50 to use for printing. Additional money can be added to your printing account at Student Account Services, located in Room 201 in the Frost Building. Specific instructions for accessing your print account are posted next to the computers in the library.

Photocopy machines

There are three photocopy machines which operate by coin (ten cents per page). They also feature "scan to e-mail" which allows digital copies to be e-mailed rather than printed (this service is free). They are available for use during regular library hours.

Here are answers to questions many new users have. Please contact the Circulation Department at 413.552.2372 for further information.

Do I have to be an HCC student to use the library?

No. The library is open to all who agree to abide by the policies and procedures of the library. However, you must present your library card to check out or renew any material.

How do I get a library card?

HCC Students:
Bring your student I.D. card to the Circulation Desk. You will be asked a few short questions about your mailing address, phone number, and enrollment status. The desk attendant will activate a code on the back of your ID card. This card will then become your library card. You must present it each time you borrow or renew library material. Student ID Cards are obtained in Frost 271 (call 413.552.2055 for more information). 

Non-HCC Students:
If you are enrolled at another college or you are a high school student, bring your validated student ID card from that college. Pre-secondary school students will need a note from your school librarian or parent. You will be issued a card which you must present each time you borrow or renew library material.

Residents:
Bring a current form of identification with an address, such as a driver's license with you when you apply for a card. You will be issued a card which you must present each time you borrow or renew library material.

What is the loan period for library material?

Books and some audio-visual material generally circulate for three weeks and are renewable. DVDs and video tapes circulate for two days with a two item limit per patron. Specific loan information is available at the Circulation Desk.

Can I renew library material?

Yes, but you must bring the material and your library card into the library. You can also renew one time online. No renewals are accepted over the telephone.

What happens if I have overdue library material?

Your borrowing privileges may be jeopardized if your library account is not in good standing. Fees for overdue material accumulate $.20/day for books and $1.00/day for video tapes and DVDs with a $5.00 limit. Failure to settle outstanding library obligations may result in the Registrar's Office withholding grades and transcript services. If you are enrolled at another school or college, that institution will be notified too.

HOURS