Read HCC's COVID-19 policies here. Road work is ongoing. View our road/parking lot closure map.


2020 Club Awards

DATE: Thursday, May 21, 2020

Dozens of students, club and staff honored at virtual event

HCC New Student Orientation leaders gather in the Campus Center early in the spring semester

HCC liberal art major Mark Cote received the "Excellence in Leadership" award for his work on two student clubs, the HCC Democrats and the Shalom Club while the Radio Club was honored a "Club of the Year."

Those were just two of the many awards and recognitions delivered Friday, May 15, during the annual HCC Club Award & Appreciation Celebration, which was held remotely this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Below is a full list of club awards and recognitions for the 2019-2020 academic year.  

Spotlight Awards (Student leaders recognized for their commitment to their clubs): Cory Boissonneault (Shalom Club), John Colleto (Civilian and Miltary Club, CAMO, formerly the Military Club), Zhane Catala (Christian Fellowship Club), Miren Neyra Alcantara (Latinx Empowerment Association, L.E.A. Club), Miyuki Johnson (International Students Club), Alexandra Santiago (L.E.A. Club), Corrine Moskal (STEM Club), Alexa Janicki (S.A.S Club), Magdalena Mackowiak (STEM Club), Luca Oddo (Game Design Club), Matthew Sawyer (Students on the Autism Spectrum, S.A.S. Club), Tianna Dwinell (S.A.S Club), Austin Lozada (Psychology Club), Roman DiVenuto (Radio Club), Josalyn Baker (Psychology Club), Merriah Eggleston (Radio Club), Zadia Valenze (Radio Club), Carrissa Batura (S.A.S Club)

Teamwork Awards: Samantha Michaelson & Tina Marie Lundwall (ASL Club), Diamond Smith & Shelden Johnson Lewish (Black Student Alliance), and John Serrano & Sierra Palazzi (Criminal Justice Club)   

Excellence in Leadership (For the student who has gone above and beyond their expected role, leading by example and inspiring club members): Mark Cote (HCC Democrats & Shalom Club) 

Commitment Award (For the student leader who went above and beyond despite facing obstacles): Kay Keeley  

Student Senate Service Awards: Jasmine Klingenbeck, Jose Perez, Husam Alnaqeeb, John Jackson, Liz Busker, Jamie Perrino, Safiyah Bey, Brianna Shvetsov, Marley Friedrick, Ze Ortiz, David Feliciano, Terice Kelly, Carolina Pena, Rosa Ueon, Faith Ballard  

Student Senate Executive Board & Trustee 2020-2021: Trustee Jasmine Klingenbeck, President Safiyah Bey, Secretary Brianna Shvetsov  

Heart and Soul (A friend to all, this giving person listens to others with patience and understanding and always goes the extra mile for the club, its mission, and its members): Sarah Poirier (ASL) 

New Student Orientation Leaders: Jasmine Klingenbeck, David Feliciano, D'Andra Stewart, Caridad Diaz, Marley Friedrick, Jaz Grant, Todd Cummings, Andy Sanders, Yariel Aleman, Brandon Bass, Josalyn Baker, Brianna Shvetsov, Heather Moczydlowski, Kim Jesionowski, John Jackson, Maiv Lee-Ruiz, Husam Alnaqeeb, Faith Ballard, Liz Busker, Megan Pelletier, Liuginsa Rosa, Sarah Poirier, Kiara Taylor, Nate Wytrwal, Safiyah Bey, Kayla Alexander      

Graduates: John Serrano (Criminal Justice Club & CAMO), Jamie Perrino (Student Senate), Alexa Janicki (S.A.S.), Sierra Palazzi (Criminal Justice), Terice Kelly (Studnt Senate), Marley Friedrick (Student Senate), Josalyn Baker (Psychology Club), Miyuki Johnson (International Students Club), Sarah Poirier (ASL)  

Club of the Year: Radio Club  

Humanitarian Effort/Community Service Award: Homeless Care Packages C.A.M.O Club, Criminal Justice Club, & Radio Club 

Event of the Year: Thanksgiving Food Drive 

Club Teamwork Event of the Year: Trunk or Treat (10 Clubs): Civilian and Military Organization (C.A.M.O), Student Senate, Psychology, Game Design, Radio, Latinx Empowerment Association (L.E.A), Dance, & Rainbow Forward, Students on the Autism Spectrum (S.A.S.), and Emerging Business Leaders.     

Best Volunteer Project: Latinx Empowerment Association (Planting Literacy Project) 

Phoenix Award (Club that rose from the ashes): Rainbow Forward Club 

Student Engagement Superstar: Lea Occhialini, HCC ombudsperson, chief culture officer and organizer of the Thanksgiving Food Drive 

Club Advisor of the Year: Lois Koltz (Shalom Club) 

Thank you for continuing to meet online & staying connected during pandemic: Student Senate, Students on the Autism Spectrum, Latinx Empowerment Association, Rainbow Forward, HCC Democrats, Radio, Creative Writing, STEM, Christian Fellowship 

PHOTOS: (Thumbnail) HCC students and staff gathered online for a virtual Club Awards and Appreciation party May 15. (Above) HCC New Student Orientataion leaders were among those recognized at the 2020 Club Awards & Appreciation event Friday, May 15. Here they are pictured in the Campus Center earlier in the spring semester.