Courses & Programs

Katherine Trombley

Administrative Assistant

Health Sciences

Center for Health Education 202

413.552.2467 (Tel)

Biology

Biology is the study of life in all of its forms.

A student examines a model of the human muscular system

From microbes to mammals and fungi to flowering plants, biologists examine the details of the amazing diversity of life on Earth. Modern biologists study life processes that are too small to be seen even with a powerful microscope, up through life events too grand to be viewed over a century. The biology department at HCC offers courses spanning this entire range. Biology students enjoy the use of the college greenhouse, an extensive nature trail system, and seven dedicated laboratories.

The biology department offers a variety of courses to meet your interests and needs, no matter your major or your career plans. Whether you're interested in courses for majors or non-majors, check the current offerings of biology courses in the online course schedule.

programs

For students preparing for a four-year degree or career in life sciences, HCC offers these options options:


Erica Bergquist
MRB 233
413.552.2461
ebergquist@hcc.edu

Debbie Bruno
MRB 220
413.552.2526
dbruno@hcc.edu

Joseph Bruseo
MRB 335
413.552.2516
jbruseo@hcc.edu

Stephanie Easler
MRB 333
413.552.2861
seasler@hcc.edu

Sage Franetovich
MRB 329
413.552.2862
sfranetovich@hcc.edu

Devon Henrichon
FR 351
413.552.2727
dhenrichon@hcc.edu

James Knapp
MRB 237
413.552.2398
jknapp@hcc.edu

Jesse Lang
MRB 337
413.552.2475
jlang@hcc.edu

Donna Mastroianni
MRB 339
413.552.2463
dmastroianni@hcc.edu

Elizabeth O'Brien-Means
MRB 331
413.552.2472
eobrien-means@hcc.edu

Emily Rabinsky
MRB 327
413.552.2470
erabinsky@hcc.edu

Alison Torrone
MRB 226
413.552.2517
atorrone@hcc.edu

Amy Toulson
MRB 241
413.552.2341
atoulson@hcc.edu

Kevin Wentworth
MRB 323
413.552.2468
kwentworth@hcc.edu

Carolyn Wetzel
MRB 239
413.552.2443
cwetzel@hcc.edu

Many students also enjoy participating in the HCC Wildlife Society (which conducts field trips, service projects, and other activities) or the Sustainability Club. Explore our clubs.

View the biology program's Student Learning Outcomes online.


  • A biology student examines a model of the human brain

    human biology

    Human Biology (BIO 111) is a general introduction to the human body, stressing health vs. disease.

  • A biology class tests pond water on the HCC campus

    get outside

    Biology students have access to HCC's extensive nature trail system.

  • A biology student examines plant leaves in the HCC greenhouse

    experience growth

    HCC's bio students enjoy the use of the college greenhouse.

  • A biology teacher looks through a microscope

    a wide range of classes

    The biology department offers a variety of courses to meet your interests and needs, no matter your major or your career plans.

Katherine Trombley

Administrative Assistant

Health Sciences

Center for Health Education 202

413.552.2467 (Tel)