Spring 2021 classes will be remote/online, and college offices are also available remotely.| COVID-19 information

About HCC

NECHE Evaluation

Holyoke Community College will undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit in October 2020 by a team representing the New England Commission of Higher Education (formerly the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, NEASC).

The New England Commission of Higher Education is one of seven accrediting commissions in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Accreditation is voluntary and applies to the institution as a whole. The Commission, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, accredits approximately 220 institutions in the six-state New England region as well as several American-style institutions overseas.

Holyoke Community College has been accredited by the Commission since 1970 and was last reviewed in October 2010. Its accreditation by the Commission encompasses the entire institution.

For the past year and a half, Holyoke Community College has been engaged in a process of selfstudy, addressing the Commission's Standards for Accreditation. An evaluation team will visit the institution to gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the institution. Following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.

Invitation for public comment

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the institution to:

Public Comment on Holyoke Community College
New England Commission of Higher Education
3 Burlington Woods Drive, Suite 100
Burlington, MA 01803-4514
E-mail: info@neche.org

Public Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution. The Commission cannot settle disputes between individuals and institutions, whether those involve faculty, students, administrators, or members of other groups. Comments will not be treated as confidential and must include the name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the comments.

Public Comments must be received by October 7, 2020. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after that date will be considered. 

steering committee chair

Kris Ricker-Choleva

steering committee members

Standard 1
Amy Dopp
Kris Ricker-Choleva

Standard 2
Donna Rowe

Standard 3
Liz Golen 

Standard 4
Joan Giovannini
Emily Rabinsky

Standard 5
Camille Close

Standard 6

Standard 7
Mary Dixey
Curt Foster

Standard 8
Tricia Kiefer

Standard 9
Tom Stewart

Additional support was provided by Elizabeth Trobaugh and Maura Henry (writing team), Veena Dhanker (data), and Sue Streeter (final report production).

self-study draft

Please click here to view the self-study draft (requires login).


NECHE-related inquiries can be sent to kcholeva@hcc.edu